University of Pretoria - Research Review
University of Pretoria - Research Review
Part 3 - Researchers and research capacity

Faculties and research entities

Professor Sunil Maharaj
Dean: Professor Sunil Maharaj

Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology (EBIT)

EBIT is organised into four schools: Engineering, the Built Environment, Information Technology and the Graduate School of Technology Management. Engineering is ranked in the top 1% of engineering schools in the world, based on research citations. Research in the Graduate School of Technology Management closely aligns its priorities to this evolving knowledge field. The Built Environment offers an entire spectrum of programmes, with close ties to the building industry. Information Technology is one of the forerunners in South Africa, with research programmes in computer science, informatics and information science.

There are 32 Research Chairs, Institutes and Centres located in the Faculty.



Chair in Advanced Sensor Networks
Chair in Artificial Intelligence
Chair in Fluoro-Material Science and Process Integration
Chair for Carbon Material and Technology (jointly with NAS)

Industry Chairs

Anglo American Chair in Pyrometallurgy
CSIR Chair in Aeronautics
Exxaro Chair in Energy Effi ciency
WEIR Minerals and Exxaro Chair in Maintenance Engineering
Glencore Chair in Modelling of Pyrometallurgical
Harmony Chair in Rock Engineering and Numerical
Rand Water Chair in Civil Engineering
Rand Water Chair in Mechanical Engineering
Sasol Chair in Safety, Health and the Environment
Sedibeng Chair in Water Utilisation Engineering
Sentech Chair in broadband Wireless Multimedia
Transnet Freight Rail Chair in Railway Engineering


Institute of Applied Materials (jointly with NAS)
Carl and Emily Fuchs Institute for Micro-Electronics (CEFIM)
Eskom Power Plant Engineering Institute (EPPEI)
Industrial Metals and Minerals Research Institute (IMMR)
Institute for Technological Innovation (ITI)
Mining Resilience Research Institute


African Centre of Excellence in Information Ethics
Centre for Advanced Sensor Networks
Centre for Asset Integrity Management
Centre for Electromagnetism
Centre of New Energy Systems (CNES)
Specialist Centre in Plant Asset Management
Centre for Telecommunications Engineering for the Information
Society (CeTEIS)
The Centre of Transport development
SAIW Centre for Welding Engineering


National Hub for demand-side Management and Energy